top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Ferrari

I turned my pantry into a concessions stand

Yes, I may have lost my mom mind. It has been tilting off the rails here lately, juggling working from home, household duties and of course the kids. I noticed my grocery bill skyrocketing and I was ordering 2x a week which is absurd for our house. The tiny two were scavenging for snacks all day long. If I said no, they know how to wait till I am on a work call and do it anyway. I was becoming the cleanup crew to a party I didn't even want to go to.

So not only were groceries going up but the amount of time I spent picking up toys and trash, I was living a game of diner dash, and losing.

I had an idea one night, I am gonna make them work for it. I packed up all the snacks in a container and put them up on top of our cabinets where the dynamic duo can't reach, no matter how many step stools they have. I then bought multi colored popsicle sticks and designated one color per kid. Each stick is worth a snack. The blue sticks are juice boxes because we all know that's the Holy Grail to kids. I keep the box of sticks and throughout the day they earn them. Want a cookie? Do you have a ticket? Go pickup some toys. This may cut down on boredom eating and trashing the house. Auggie is really catching on. Gio is not so much a fan, but this mom is. I know this may be a ridiculous concept but we are in ridiculous times and I was at my wits end so, here's to silly ideas and doing whatever works best for you and your family. #figuringitoutwiththeferraris #parenting #surviving2020 #snackmonsters #gioandgus #momlife #balancingact #workingfromhome





89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A little help, please.

Having a child with Down syndrome, our family has learned to adapt and be resourceful over the 3 short years that we have had Auggie. We’ve learned that Auggie, like many other will do things on his o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page